2015 Road World Champion Peter Sagan has successfully defended his title and won the 2016 World road race in Doha.

The Slovakian rider beat Britain’s Mark Cavendish to the line to win back-to-back world road race championships; A feat only achieved by five other riders in the history of the World championships.

An early breakaway blew away the main peloton, gaining an advantage of around two minutes and leaving several big names behind and out of contention including Marcel Kittel of Germany. Cross winds also played a part in the day making it difficult for the chase group to close the gap and subsequently many riders abandoned the race.

The strong breakaway group of around 20 riders kept well ahead for the remainder of the race with Belgian riders doing the work. They had five riders in the group working for Tom Boonen. Eventual winner Sagan was joined by team-mate Michael Kolar in the break and Cavendish had Adam Blythe supporting him. The Italians also had four or five riders in the breakaway group including Elia Viviani.

The final part of the 257km race was a group sprint as expected. Defending champion Sagan pulled out to the front and couldn’t be caught by Mark Cavendish in second and Tom Boonen in third.

Sagan becomes the sixth rider to successfully defend the rainbow jersey and the first since Paolo Bettini of Italy achieved it in 2006 and 2007.